Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: welder info/suggestions...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
scottb
i have exactly zero welding experience but would like to learn. i have yet to buy a welder as i am not certain what type would be the most useful for car/home use. i am certain all have advantages but the best 'all round' one would be what i would like.

so what do those in the know say?

thanks in advance....
charlesmac
I like my miller 130 wire feed welder. Not that i'm an expert by any means, but with practice it's fairly simple to use. It won't weld past 1/4" steel, and for that even i usually use thicker flux core wire w/o the gas. A little more messy, but it gets the job done. I think it's a great home/shop welder. Start with a wire feed welder, it'll do most of what you need it for.

charles
seanery
scott, see if your local high school or vocational school has a welding class for adults. I took one about a year and half and loved it. welder.gif

I purchased a Miller 135. It operates on 110. I wanted to get a 175, but I don't have 220 in the garage, well, anywhere actually.

MIG is the easiest to learn and do.
TIG is awesome, great for superclean and/or small welds, aluminum...

plain ol arc welding was fun at first but it is messy as hell and became much less fun once I learned to MIG & TIG.
balljoint
I started with a Lincoln flux core, wire feed arc welder(110 v). Got pretty good at laying down fairly clean beads with it but when I bought the MIG conversion the welds got a lot prettier.

With little shop welders the most important thing is having the cleanest surfaces to weld and have a continuous arc. I found that even "Weld Through" primer was a problem, as was the zinc coating on Galv-anneal steel, but now everything gets the grinder or wire bruch treatment. I have never taken lessons, I probably should but once I got the knack for it I have been making good welds.