Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Any experiences with...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Prospectfarms
I'm interested in anyone's experience with "Hot Spark" electronic ignitions.

Does anyone agree that working on the distributor on this car is no fun. I usually remove the lid and kneel in the trunk. That works fine but is a PIA. First tune-up required pulling the assembly to change the condenser. Yikes!

Adjusting points really stinks 'cause I never get the dwell by gapping alone -- gotta warm up the car, hook up the meter and test it. Then climb back into the trunk and re- gap. Overcorrect. Repeat. I'm not a great mechanic anyway.

It's my misfortune to own 13 internal combustion engines running various vehicles and devices. Only three use mechanical ignition. Even my mowers have EI. Two of the three hold-outs are 40 year old tractors and tuning them is so easy that my four year-old could adjust the points (maybe next year).

Don't get me wrong, I really like almost all of the "obsolete" technology on the 914. One might argue that some of it works better than new. At least you can work on it. It's also reasonable to argue that putting a bunch of semiconductors on top of a hot engine is asking for trouble, but I've never seen an ignition module go bad. Not that it doesn't happen....

Long winded post, so I'll wrap it up. On this board I've read one reference to the "Hot Spark" ignition retrofit and only in passing. It was not unfavorable, so I wonder if anyone else runs it? It has only been a short time that I knew they existed. Cheap too.

Not interested in Petronix -- no good reason, but their ads in the VW magazines seem gimmicky. People sometimes report failure, but you have to consider that they are probably a lot more of those being sold than the other brands. Never installed Petronix or any EI on a bug or a bus -- the dizzy is easier to get to on those cars and the dwell not so critical.