Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A/C installation
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
biker bob
Wife says its time to add A/C or I 'll be losing my co-pilot. We are getting older and I did not put up much of fuss. So I'll be needing some advice from you guys. I have a A/C unit (in a box) off my 73 parts car that I need to install on my 72 2.0L. I have some experience installing an aftermarket unit in a Mustang years ago.

I need info as to installation in a 914. Condenser mounting ,compressor bracket location, dryer location, mods to engine tin, hose routing and etc. I also need a source for a new dryer and a new Sanden compressor to replace the old York.

Help appreicated.. Bob
amphiduck
Go here:

http://www.bowlsby.net/914/Classic/TechNotebook.htm

Has all the a/c installation instructions. I plan on doing it to my '74 sometime in the not too distant future. Good luck!
mtburman
I just replaced/updated entire a/c system to sanden compressor, new barrier hoses, new electric fan over condenser. Works great, don't notice compressor running even at stop light. Lost passenger side heater but am working on adding cross duct from drivers side although not really needed in AZ.
biker bob
QUOTE(mtburman @ Mar 10 2012, 02:41 PM) *

I just replaced/updated entire a/c system to sanden compressor, new barrier hoses, new electric fan over condenser. Works great, don't notice compressor running even at stop light. Lost passenger side heater but am working on adding cross duct from drivers side although not really needed in AZ.

What model sanden compressor did you use?
dlee6204
Here are two threads that might help you out some...

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...c=78327&hl=

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...ioning&st=0

bandjoey
http://www.oldairproducts.com/catalog/