Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1st oil change! Checking my list - am I set?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
auto_cran
So I'm getting ready to do my first oil change on our newly acquired '74 1.8.

Getting ready to order the following from Atlanta:

Mahle-Knecht oil filter
Victor Reinz Oil Gasket Set
(includes 2 gaskets, crush washer for strainer, washer for drain plug)

Anything else I need?

Any tips/trickes I need to know about? I change the oil on all my other cars, but those are Toyotas, Fords, & Chevys. This is my first time owning & changing the oil on a German car.

Also - my searches show most use 20W-50 oil in their 914. I'm in Dallas, Tx and I typically use 10W30 in most of my cars. Should I use 20W-50 in the 914?

Any tips / suggestions are welcome!

I still owe you all pics. Hope to get them by the weekend.

thanks

Chris
(auto_cran)
jcambo7
QUOTE(auto_cran @ Mar 12 2012, 09:56 PM) *

So I'm getting ready to do my first oil change on our newly acquired '74 1.8.

Getting ready to order the following from Atlanta:

Mahle-Knecht oil filter
Victor Reinz Oil Gasket Set
(includes 2 gaskets, crush washer for strainer, washer for drain plug)

Anything else I need?

Any tips/trickes I need to know about? I change the oil on all my other cars, but those are Toyotas, Fords, & Chevys. This is my first time owning & changing the oil on a German car.

Also - my searches show most use 20W-50 oil in their 914. I'm in Dallas, Tx and I typically use 10W30 in most of my cars. Should I use 20W-50 in the 914?

Any tips / suggestions are welcome!

I still owe you all pics. Hope to get them by the weekend.

thanks

Chris
(auto_cran)

Air cooled cars run hotter so 20-50 is what you should go with. While I was in Oklahoma with mine. My oil temp almost pegged out at 250 after an 1 and a half hours of driving which was during the summer also. And I use 20-50.
luskesq