Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Anybody want Bright Lights? (Pics Added!)
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SchantzMD
So I'm down to my last quarter at Cal Poly Pomona and the last thing I have to do to get my degree is finish one class and complete a Senior design project. Therefore over the next 12 weeks I'll be building a Physical Vapor Deposition (PVD) machine which will be capable of creating a very high vacuum, heating & vaporizing aluminum, and depositing it as a super shiny/reflective coating on a substrate.

In order to recoup some of my project cost (I've spent almost $2k already, damn this school thing is expensive! headbang.gif ) I'm hoping to redo some fog light reflectors, front turn signal buckets, and maybe even some tail/brake/reverse light reflectors (Note: there may be a heat transfer issue on the rear reflectors since they're plastic, so I may not be able to coat them).

So the question for you guys:

Would you be interested in freshly coated reflectors for your lights and if so would $75-$100 for a reconditioned set seem reasonable? Keep in mind this will be dependent on being able to recreate a 98%-100% factory finish and that there will be a fair amount of material cost & prep time associated with each set of 2 reflectors done. Also, this will most likely have to be based on an "exchange" basis. To be honest I don't even know if I'll mess with this endevour yet or if I'll just sell the PVD machine when I'm done, so as of right now this is just a feeler.

Thanks in advance for the input!
Mike

71 sixer
if you find that you are able to do the rear reflectors then I would definately be interested.
wingnut86
Share some pictures here of your PVD when done (no design specs for your protection), I'm interested in seeing her run on The Tube later as well smile.gif

I too would be interested at that cost point...

Mikey914