Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 750mV from battery to ground
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Prospectfarms
Key off. Red terminal to body gives somewhere between 1V and 750mV. sad.gif To me that seems like a bare wire short to ground but I'm not an expert.

Likely spots? Anyplace I could test first before tracing the whole electrical system?

How about a short (N.P.I.) list of always-hot wires in the car. Doesn't have to be comprehensive -- just looking for a starting point.

Thanks.
stugray
What?

Does the car run?
You should have ~12-13 Volts between the Positive terminal and the car chassis regardless of the switch position.
Same as between the + and - of the battery itself.

To find a short, you need to have the meter in series with the battery and measuring current not voltage.

Stu
Valy
1St, your battery is dead.
Disconnect it and measure resistance between red wire and ground(body). If it's below 1k ohm start looking for shorts.
underthetire
To check ghost drains

Remove red wire from battery with key off
Make sure doors are closed, lights off, etc.
Place one meter lead on battery, the other on red wire
Place meter leads in meter to measure amps
Put meter in amp measuring range.

50MA or so would be normal for back up on stereo etc., possible more if you have an amp.

Spoke
Here's some basic voltages to check.

1) Measure battery voltage (on each battery terminal, not clamp)

2) Measure battery positive terminal (not clamp), to chassis ground.

3) Measure battery negative terminal (not clamp), to chassis ground.

Let me know what you find.
Prospectfarms
QUOTE(stugray @ Mar 27 2012, 10:25 AM) *

What?

Does the car run?
You should have ~12-13 Volts between the Positive terminal and the car chassis regardless of the switch position.

To find a short, you need to have the meter in series with the battery and measuring current not voltage.

Stu