Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: tranny cooler questions -UPDATED
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
naro914
Hey all,
so it's become obvious to me that I need a transmission cooler set up. With 330 hp and using a 901 box, it's going to start destroying gears (already did this past weekend at Road Atlanta).

So, what is everyone using and how are they set up? What pump & cooler? are you using a resevior/tank? Where is the cooler mounted? and where are you getting the oil in and out of the trans?

As you can see, I'm a complete newbie about this, need to educate and do as quickly as possible...I'm running out of transmissions!

Pictures would be wonderful...

thanks!!
mepstein
Sounds like a 930 trans is in your future.
naro914
QUOTE(mepstein @ Mar 28 2012, 08:34 AM) *

Huh? Why would I want a 4 speed? As it is, I wish I had a 6 speed.
Richard Casto
Bob,

Here is a recent thread that you might find useful...

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=161520

Richard
Cracker
Nah. Bob doesn't have enough torque/power for "just" a 4-speed with big gears. unsure.gif

Is this a clear enough pic (below)?

Forgot to answer the product questions. Tilton pumps & Mocal/Setrab coolers. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(naro914 @ Mar 28 2012, 08:47 AM) *

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment
pcar916
I'm going through the same decision process now. A related thread that has a long discussion on cooler parts and considerations... my pump choice wasn't either of those...

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...161520&st=0

I'm looking at the huge space in front of the passenger side rear tire because the weight will be forward, low and power is available in the harness a couple of feet away. If my oil tank were up front (possible future project) I'd put it in the left side instead. There is room for a 7in Spal pancake fan, mounting brackets, and a bit of duct-work/rock shielding too.