Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ok, so why shouldn't I buy the eBay high torque starter?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RoadGlue
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PORSCHE-911-MINI-S...0-/320876346678

"Units now come supplied with alignment shim. Not required on most applications, but if alignment issue between pinion gear and flywheel comes up, then this will eliminate your issue."

I remember this being an issue sometime back. It's half the price of the units PP carry. Sell me one way or the other please! beer3.gif

My starter has been getting worse. Today it fused stuck! Had to put the car in gear, get a rolling start and pop the clutch to get the starter to break free. This has been a long time coming. I've been nursing old starters along for a 15 years. smile.gif
Black22
No reason IMO. I have run that one for over a year with the shim and recently rebuilt my engine. There was no indication of wear on the flywheel teeth that suggested it was not working properly.
I think SLITS has another vendor that sells basically the same thing. Maybe he'll chime in.
The only thing I noticed is it definitely sounds alot different when turning the engine over. The sound made me nervous until I got used to it and saw the flywheel was not harmed.
Car starts first time every time now.
RoadGlue
I'm chomp chomp chomping at the bit. Thanks for the info! I may just have to buy it right now! smile.gif
RoadGlue
Done. smile.gif

Thanks again!
Elliot Cannon
I had one that lasted about a year. FWIW
RoadGlue
Anything special about the motor? High compression, or six?
BMXerror
I've had mine for about 4 years. CNCed a shim for it myself. I've abused the crap out of it while the D-Jet was giving me hassles, and it still gives me no troubles. FWIW
Mark D.
Dr Evil
Oh, dont buy that one! There is another similar one that is better and the same price headbang.gif
Dr Evil
Just kidding smile.gif
McMark