Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Guy doing a rebuild and restore
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RaptorMan
Hey guys I'm brand new. I'm a mechanic and my dad has a blue 1975 914 with the 1.8L in it. He's had the car for 20 years and has let it fall into neglect. It runs but has a good bit of blow by. It needs to have some rust spots sanded out and repainted which he is having done this summer. Interior needs some work but he wants me to rebuild the engine. As I start looking for parts I'm not finding a lot. Keeping the engine stock would be preferable. I'm going to be doing the rebuild in hayward, WI.

The motor will come out next month and I'm trying to get him a price on a rebuild. Where do you guys go for parts? What kind of things have people done in the past and what are you recommendations? Any good machine shops familar with these engines in WI? What should I watch out for ?
SirAndy
QUOTE(RaptorMan @ Jun 25 2012, 03:27 PM) *

Hey guys I'm brand new. I'm a mechanic and my dad has a blue 1975 914 with the 1.8L in it. He's had the car for 20 years and has let it fall into neglect. It runs but has a good bit of blow by. It needs to have some rust spots sanded out and repainted which he is having done this summer. Interior needs some work but he wants me to rebuild the engine. As I start looking for parts I'm not finding a lot. Keeping the engine stock would be preferable. I'm going to be doing the rebuild in hayward, WI.

The motor will come out next month and I'm trying to get him a price on a rebuild. Where do you guys go for parts? What kind of things have people done in the past and what are you recommendations? Any good machine shops familar with these engines in WI? What should I watch out for ?

Can't help you much with your questions, but ...

welcome.png

Oh, and thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif

beerchug.gif
aharder
welcome.png
JawjaPorsche