Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What is this?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ericoneal
Hi all, new 914 owner here. Loving the car, but of course it has some oil leaks, for now. The previous owner disclosed that the pushrod tube seals were leaking (and they are!) and also the oil temperature sensor seal area.
I am also getting a few drips from the, what I think to be, the dust boot on the gear shift linkage. Total noob here, so bear with me.
Could this just be blowback from the other oil leaks, which arent too bad really, or could something really be leaking from here. The attached pic is not my car, but that is where the oil is dripping from.
Its just a dust boot, right? Its not really sealing anything is it?

Thanks!
914Sixer
Its the side shift transmission cover. Your seal where the shifter selector rod comes out is leaking. Seal is about $3 most places. It is a pretty simple replacement in most cases.
timothy_nd28
What a beautiful looking underside! I agree, that shift fork seal is very easy to replace. The pushrod tube seals are not so bad to replace either. I tend to use the Permatex liquid formagasket in conjunction with the new seals, and had great luck doing so.
welcome.png
914itis
I just noticed that I am leaking there too, will take care of that during hybernation time.
wingnut86
If those are subwoofers suspended, then they are probably causing low-frequency vibration leading to dis-coom-bobulation of all the seals.

When you play "Baby Got Back", does the oil light stay on?

aktion035.gif

welcome.png
walterolin
Hello Eric,

Welcome the 'World. I live near Seneca Park. I'll send a PM with contact info, give me a call - I don't know anyone else here in Louisville with a 'teener.

Olin
Dave_Darling