Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 30+ year love affair
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Jgilliam914
Being a Newbie to this forum doesnt mean I am new to the 914. I have owned this car 31 years and counting and have owned two others. I have spent the last month reading many threads with much enjoyment. This has inspired me to start my own thread. I know EVERYONE love pics and I will get more loaded soon but I felt compelled to start with a few and list what I have done to it so far. I thought maybe listing it chronologically might be interesting enough?

1 Bought the car from a life long friend from Camarillio Ca. who has sinced moved
Jan 1981... Well I traded the first car I ever owned a 1968 Chevy Impala SS with a 427 4 speed with less than 45 000 miles .. It seemed like a fair trade at the time lol-2.gif

2 Rebuilt the engine 5 months later. The engine had a stroker crank 100 mm pistons and a high duration cam. Dual 40 webers. It was a screamer to 55 mph. Not like the 427 was but few cars could match that!! But the Chevy got a whopping 14 mpg on a good day only if you were drafting semi's.

3. In 1982 moved to Iowa got married and started having kids all within a few months if you know what I mean?

4. In 1983 I spun a bearing in the motor and being a " family man " now I needed something a bit more reliable so I had the local Porsche Mechanic Tom Bruch ( who IMO is a mechanical genius which I will get into later). We opted for a Big bore 1.7 and the motor was very reliable and powerful enough that when I started SCCA autocrossing that I did fairly well.