Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Welding a gas tank?!?!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
blaize
So I found two little pinholes on my gastank. the area that sits on the little shelf has rusted. a patch about the size of a dollar bill. so if I flush the tank with water and leave as much as I can in it at the time what are your collective thoughts on me welding (mig) a patch panel in? I also considered using JB weld to patch it but as we all know the rust will just keep on growing under there.
McMark
Acid dip it, get a tank coating kit that has rust neutralizer in it or get muiatic acid from a supply house. The acid will neutralize the rust. Then JB weld or solder to repair. I would never weld on a gas tank unless I was a certified welder with years of experience. If you do decide to weld, make sure to borrow some saftey gear from your local bomb squad.

beerchug.gif
GWN7
I'd take it to a rad shop and have it boiled/cleaned/hot tanked to see if it is worth saving first. That way you will know it's safe to weld on. If they clean it and it has many pin holes, you could ask/look in the classifieds to see if you can get a replacement tank at a cheaper cost than the repair will run you.
blaize
The rest of the tank is rock solid. not a speck of rust anywhere else. I may neutralize and jb weld it. seems a helluva lot safer
Cap'n Krusty
Waste of time. Spend the bux, do it right, live to drive your car. JB wels isn;t up to the job. I have a neighbor without a brother and nephew as a result of a mistake welding a gas tank truck at his own professional welding shop. Any competent radiator shop can fix it for you. The Cap'n
Howard
agree.gif

Or better, get another tank. We don't like losing 914 guys!
bob91403
I've heard of people converting them to fuel cells. Might be worth looking in to. boldblue.gif
Qarl
Fill it with some sort of fluid before welding... like gasoline or moonshine.

Just kidding
ChrisFoley
QUOTE(Qarl @ Oct 26 2004, 09:10 AM)