Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Education required
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ned911
A bit of background. My father and I have been racing vintage 911's for about 12 years, he also has a '64 356 SC.

My wife has caught the racing bug and has decided she would like to race a 914 in vintage E-production. First thing is to find a really nice driver, start doing DE's then move to vintage and maybe PCA racing.

When looking for a good driving 914 what are the gotcha's? What is the hell hole I keep reading about in regards to rust? What are the other major issues that would indicate moving on to the next car.

Thanks,

Ned
Mike Bellis
The Hell hole is the area under the battery. Prone to rust. The longitudinal frame rails are prone to rust. Look near the jack points.

From a California perspective... If there is rust in any other place than listed above, run away. The visible rust is only 10% of what is there.

Usually the passenger jack points are places to look. Poke around under the battery look for holes in the long that lead to the passenger jack post area.

We in California, Arizona, New Mexico and parts of Texas are blessed with nicer cars to start with. The East Coast guys like to restore stuff we throw away. Look in western dry states for a good car.
Mike Bellis
welcome.png
brant
Do you run CVAR with the 911's?
I run a teener in vintage and make a few CVAR events from time to time

any chance your going to Hallet?

ned911
I do run CVAR. I run the #12 CP 911 and my father runs the silver #33. I'm recovering from a missed shift that resulted in some ugliness so I won't make Hallet unfortunately.

QUOTE(brant @ Sep 11 2012, 10:09 PM) *

Do you run CVAR with the 911's?
I run a teener in vintage and make a few CVAR events from time to time

any chance your going to Hallet?

brant
my experience with PCA is that you won't find it fun in a teener...

cvar and vintage is much more fun.