Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 2.0 Type IV w/ Weber 40 IDF timing
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
AE354803
The motor is a GC type IV case with early NOS 2.0 GA heads and Weber 40 IDF carbs. The PO installed a Web-Cam hydraulic + carb grind with hydraulic lifters.

I doubt that the correct timing for it is the stock timing given it is carbs instead of fuel injection. Right now I've just been turning it until it appears to be running best and taking it for a drive, any idea what the best timing might be?

Andy
bandjoey
Pelican parts- tech articles- timing with carbs
And I'm sure someone else will help
AE354803
Thanks I forgot to check there. Should there be any difference with running a non vacuum advance distributor? I have a Bosch 009 I believe, can't remember but it definitely isn't a vacuum advance.
bandjoey
Mine is a 2.0 w/Dellortos. Followed the article exactly and it worked good. Not being a mechanic I'm not going to experiment. driving.gif
aircooledtechguy
ANY time you use a centrifugal only advance distributor, the timing must, MUST, MUST be set at maximum advance. All manuals assume that you have the distributor the car came with from the factory. Since virtually all cars come originally equipped with a vacuum operated distributor, the timing procedure generally tells you to remove adn cap vacuum lines and set the timing to a timing mark generally between 5 ATDC to 10 BTDC with the car idling. Since you do NOT have vacuum operation (which is a load sensor), this means ONLY the engine speed gives you advance so you must ensure that your timing does NOT go higher than a pre-determined limit to ensure you don't promote knocking and pinging and over heat your motor.