Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Prospective Buyer Questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Subie914
Hi, I am looking at a 914 to buy. I am new to 914's, so I dont know a whole lot about them yet. I am aware of the rust issues (hell hole, etc.) and have checked out the car I'm looking at thoroughly. It looks to be in good condition in that department. However, it will need mechanical work since it has been sitting for a while. I am planning a Subaru swap for drivetrain. For suspension / brakes I am looking for a setup good for a nice handling weekend street and occasional track day car.

My question is:
How much money (ballpark) am I looking at to revamp suspension / brakes for a nice handling weekend street and occasional track day car?

Thanks in advance for any advice. I appreciate it!
pt_700
welcome to the forum! have you driven a 914 yet? one of the best handling cars ever, in my rather limited experience. able to give sportbikes fits on mountain roads, especially downhill!

based on my research for a long stalled v8 conversion, you could swap in 911 components rebuilt for around 3k (patrick motorsports) or just upgrade shocks and bushings for a few hundred. plenty of room in between, just depends on your budget.
Subie914
I havent had the pleasure of driving one yet, but I am hoping to do that soon.

I would probably go the upgraded shocks and bushings route, aka as cheap as possible.

I believe I would fit into the "CSOB club" sometimes referenced on this forum. biggrin.gif
Spoke
Where are you located in the northeast.

Do yourself a big favor and get someone on this board to look at the car for you. Knowledge gained by having researched the 914 pales in comparison to having owned one.
76-914