Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NPC - Another Linux Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
HarveyH
A few weeks ago a question was asked about the best Linux distribution for office workstations. How about the best for a home machine? 5-6 year old HP Pavilion, PI, 433 Celeron, 12 Gig HD, 192 Meg RAM. Will share a cable connection through a router with an XP Home machine and a Win2K laptop. I have zero experience with Linux/Unix, though 6-8 years ago I was the defacto Sys Admin for a 10-12 workstation NT 3.5 system, mostly user accounts and loading and updating applications. I'm a Tech Writer by profession, and am fairly competent in Word, and can usually get reasonable results in any WinTel application I've tried.
Thanks,
Harvey
skline
For what you are running, I would just stick to an older version of RedHat or Mandrake. Both are simple to use and dont require mega proccessors.
krk
I'm mostly with Scott on this one.

rhat 9, or Fedora Core 1 (which many think of as rhat 10) were both good and known to be pleasant within the win32 world as well.

[I'll add a plug for my company (Specifix) at http://www.specifix.com -- the distro is technically "alpha" but will be beta shortly and actually stable now -- we use it internally on our servers/etc -- if you're adventurous... smile.gif]

kim.
McMark
You'll need to upgrade your hardware, but the best home Linux/Unix distribution is... Mac OS X. biggrin.gif Sorry, couldn't resist.
krk
QUOTE(markd@mac.com @ Nov 1 2004, 08:53 PM)
You'll need to upgrade your hardware, but the best home Linux/Unix distribution is... Mac OS X. biggrin.gif Sorry, couldn't resist.

Heh -- you forgot to mention the small hardware requirement smile.gif

kim.
airsix