Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How much pitting is too much pitting?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
brunester
Hey Guys,
My dad and I are doing a Rustoration on a 914 2L.
Basically the Drivers floor / passenger rear / passenger firewall / trunk / battery tray.
The Longs look good.... we think.

Here is my question,
On the hellhole, how much pitting is ok?
What should i do for this?

IPB Image

IPB Image

And here is an overview of the lil darlin
IPB Image

Thanks for any advice!

-Eric
GaroldShaffer
I am no expert when it comes to body work, but if it were my car I would replace that area. But I will defer to the body experts.
ConeDodger
QUOTE(Garold Shaffer @ Oct 20 2012, 06:36 PM) *

I am no expert when it comes to body work, but if it were my car I would replace that area. But I will defer to the body experts.

agree.gif

Remember, you're only looking at one side of it...
Andyrew
Use the sharp screwdriver test.

I stab at it like im trying to kill a intruder... If it goes through a little bit, I'd replace.

That being said I had something similar and replaced it.
McMark
I actually tend to take a more conservative approach. Usually these cars have so much work that needs to be done that unless you're planning on building a big-track racecar or building a 100pt restoration, you can leave stuff like that. That pitting will never cause a problem and replacing it is just more work. Rust convert it. Check carefully for pinholes. Then move on to other projects.

BTW, the metal there is double walled, so there is the pitted metal you see there and there is probably perfect metal right underneath it.

Yeah, the more I look at it, the more I think - don't bother (except for the two conditions above, race car/restoration).
mr914
I agree with the screwdriver stabb test

agree.gif
brunester
Thank you for the advice guys,
I will go ahead and stab at it a bit sawzall-smiley.gif

Would welding a piece of metal over the pitting do anything?