Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I gotta say...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
McMark
I've been driving my car for a few months now, and after driving over to Santa Rosa today, I gotta say that ol' 1.7 isn't a shabby engine. Sure, it doesn't throw you back in the seat. But I wouldn't call it slow and I certainly wouldn't pass on a good running car just because it was a 1.7.

Probably not sharing anything new, but I haven't seen a lot of posts that support the 1.7/1.8.

smile.gif
Gint
They're great at sea level. And awesome for cruising across the US. Every day at altitude is another story...
Elliot Cannon
You need to turbo that 1.7.
SirAndy
QUOTE(McMark @ Nov 6 2012, 05:18 PM) *
I've been driving my car for a few months now, and after driving over to Santa Rosa today, I gotta say that ol' 1.7 isn't a shabby engine. Sure, it doesn't throw you back in the seat. But I wouldn't call it slow and I certainly wouldn't pass on a good running car just because it was a 1.7.

agree.gif

I had plenty of fun with my 1.7L D-Jet car ...
driving.gif
ConeDodger
They are actually a pretty formidable autocross car in the right hands. Momentum maintained and the 1.7 is hard to beat...

You should turbo it though... evilgrin.gif
JawjaPorsche
I have had my 1.7 for 40 years so I am little biased! The D-Jet engine is pretty much bullet proof if you maintain it. Like anything, it will last a long time if you will take care of it. Mine is the 73 version with the paper air filter.
DblDog
Mark...

That worn 1.7 with the M-S, third-fourth that you put in my '72 is still goin' strong...lots of fun.

I still have to talk to you about the fuel pump....soon

Bob
914werke
I agree, especially in 1911 trim. happy11.gif
Krieger
TURBO!
Black22
I started with a 1.8...now it's a 1911. MUCH nicer!
cary
I'm putting the old 1.7 back into my rustoration project.
Tune up and new hoses. Run it till it gets too tired.
Then we'll build the best MPG engine we can.
mightyohm