Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: electronic ignition
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
72914S
Just wondern` what electronic conversion is felt to be the best(most reliable and easy ) I am installing the MSD 6AL this week-end.
ArtechnikA
QUOTE(72914S @ Nov 3 2004, 04:45 AM)
Just wondern` what electronic conversion is felt to be the best(most reliable and easy ) I am installing the MSD 6AL this week-end.

i do not understand your question.

first you asked what kind is best, then you said you were installing a MSD-6AL anyway...

since you ask, my preference is Crane all the way.
HarveyH
Rich, I think he's really asking about a points replacement in addition to the CD/Multi-spark box.
A number of people here, and on other BBS/Forums/E-mail lists have reported trouble with the Pertronics, and swear by the Crane/Allison unit. On the other hand, I have been running a Pertronicsfor six or seven years now with no problems. There are also a couple of other devices available, all of whose names escape me right at the moment, that also have their supporters and detractors. My own opinion is that you pay your money and take your chances....
The major advantage of the points replacement is that it will eliminate the need to adjust/replace the points and condenser, and readjust the timing. Supposedly they will also stabilize the timing by masking the effects of mildly worn distributor shaft bearings.
From what I've heard, with a properly operating FI car, the multi-spark will not gain you much. With a carbed car (particularly with a hotter than stock cam), the MSD ( or Crane, or others) unit will help ignite/burn fuel mixtures that are richer than optimum.

Harvey
ArtechnikA
QUOTE(HarveyH @ Nov 3 2004, 06:09 AM)
From what I've heard, with a properly operating FI car, the multi-spark will not gain you much.

for the most part i agree completely...