Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Deck Height
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
worn
OK using a section of chain saw bar (very nice flat grind - I've been saving that for almost 40 years) I have measured the deck height so things are moving ahead. They range from .062 to .055 inches. Although I have fair reproducibility, these numbers vary a little because I am clumsy with the dial indicator. Fortunately the vernier caliper approach agrees pretty closely and is easier. They may be closer together than that, I doubt they are much farther though. Oh, the feeler gauge agrees too.

My question: close enough to each other?

Thanks again.
ArtechnikA
Issue isn't really the deck height.
Unless you believe the crank throws are off 0.01" or your total rod length is off by that or the pin heights vary ... (all unlikely, but ya gotta check everything...)

The deal is whether all the cylinders are different heights or whether the registers at the case have sunk.

If the cylinders are -not- of identical height, you may be able to play mix-n-match by using a longer cylinder on a more-sunken register.

More than individual deck height variances I believe you need to be concerned about the cylinders on the same side. If the cylinder tops are not identical on the same side, you'll have head sealing issues.

You may be able to tinker with this a little by using different base gaskets, especially if the tall cylinder on each side already has too little deck height.
SirAndy
QUOTE(ArtechnikA @ Dec 5 2012, 01:47 PM) *
You may be able to tinker with this a little by using different base gaskets, especially if the tall cylinder on each side already has too little deck height.

agree.gif

I'm no expert on the subject, but using various cylinder base gaskets should get you closer than what you have now.

And like Rich pointed out, the height of the cylinders on each bank has to be the same if you want to have any chance of the heads sealing ok.

idea.gif
worn