Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: BUILD THREAD: Time to get the Berber Yellow 75 914 2.0 back in running condition
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
carguy914
Hi Guys
I'm fairly new to the 914 World Forum but not new to Teeners...first introduced in 72...,a SCCA EP 914 in the late 70's (a 70 model), repaired and refurbished several for friends from time to time, and have owned 6 different 914's throughout the years, along with some tail draggers, 951's and a Boxster (girls car) I'll go ahead and say it!! But I'm a Porsche guy to say the least.

Which brings me to 914 #6 and the reason for this new thread....it's time to get my latest project on the road. A little background on this little jewel...spent it's life in and around the Bloomington, Ca area until the PO, who was working on it at the time, while driving his 75 911S passed away....that was some 12 yrs or so ago. His sister in South Fl inherited the cars and had them shipped across the country, stashed the 914 in the garage (under 2 covers and some big foam pads) in it's slightly disassembled condition (mostly interior...dash area) and drove the heck out of the 911 for the next 8+ yrs until she got sick, sold the 911 and later passed away as well....enter her daughter and a very vague Craiglist Ad in Oct. of 2011 and now it's mine!!!

Here's the day I uncovered it, loaded it on my trailer and headed to South Carolina

Click to view attachment

I first started cleaning on this mostly original, one very nice quality respray, car and have found it to have very little rust....which was what I was looking for...a good chassis!

Pulled the drive train

Click to view attachment

A little dirty, but all there, so it's off to AutoMetrics Motorsports for cleaning, leak down test and resealing, along with all new hoses and some fresh powdercoat on the tins.....pictures to follow

I'll keep the pictures coming

--Roger
carguy914
Some new pictures....just been disassembling for cleaning...