Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Temp Sensor
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
last337
I just got my Haynes and was hoping to have a bit more info in there but this thing is not very good as far as info goes.

I am concerned because at this point I am just unsure if everything having to do with the oil cooler and actual temp of the engine is running correctly (or even there).

I can feel a lot of air coming from under the car when the engine is running so I assume the fan is running correctly. However, I am unsure if this is cooling the oil cooler correctly. I am just also a bit unsure whether this temp gauge is working because it never seems to move. Any help is appreciated.

I am still a newbie so please be gentle smile.gif

Click to view attachment
76-914
More info...........it has a console w/ 3 ga cluster? one of them being the temp gage?? and whichever gage never moves....at all??
last337
QUOTE(76-914 @ Dec 26 2012, 04:06 PM) *

More info...........it has a console w/ 3 ga cluster? one of them being the temp gage?? and whichever gage never moves....at all??

Yes that is exactly correct. If it moves it is barely noticeable
turk22
I have the same problem, and at some point I'll either replace the sender, or fix the gauge, but for the time being, I've put in a dipstick thermometer. Which give me some piece of mind that the car is running at the correct temp.
last337
QUOTE(turk22 @ Dec 26 2012, 04:41 PM) *

I have the same problem, and at some point I'll either replace the sender, or fix the gauge, but for the time being, I've put in a dipstick thermometer. Which give me some piece of mind that the car is running at the correct temp.

Do you have a link to dipstick thermometer? I think that'll give some piece of mind as well while I cut my teeth. This is my first air-cooled car and I'm a bit lost at the moment confused24.gif
walterolin
http://www.mainelycustombydesign.com/1dipstick3.html