Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: starting problems
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Joshporsche
I understand that there is a million different things that go on with the fuel system, here is my question
my 1.7 D-jet isn't getting gas to the place it needs to go.
on some fit-it pages they say that the fuel pump will buzz for 1-2 seconds. I don't hear a buzz but i get power for about 2 seconds to the pump, then it clicks off like it trips. No gas pumped. I sprayed gas into the throttle and my car starts, but only stays running if i'm spraying.

Any help?
oh i'm a rookie so go easy on me.
Josh
Joe Bob
Got a way to measure the fuel pressure?
TheCabinetmaker
How did you check to see if there was no gas from the fuel pump?
tod914
I had trouble with mine too at one point. You can pick up a fuel pressure gauge at an autoparts store. I hooked it up to where the cold start valve gets plugged in. There is also/should be a spot on the fuel rail where you can screw in a fuel pressure gauge. Maybe someone can reccomend the proper gauge that attaches to that. I could not find one that fit on the rail. Pressure should be around 29psi if I'm not mistaken.
cooltimes
Sounds like your pump is working normal to me but I have been wrong before :-).
Several things can be wrong. The simple things are usually the problem and don't cost anything to check.
Start with:
Gas tank has no fuel or the fuel filter is clogged.
If you have fuel and just added it to an almost empty tank, sediment is likely clogging something.
So maybe the fuel lines are clogged.

1st, Remove battery cables to prevent fire before doing anything to the fuel lines.