Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What is "Bump?"
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tumamilhem
Excuse my ignorance. I am new to 914 World. But what does it mean to "bump" a topic/thread and how do you do it? I am assuming it's something you can do to renew a topic that has "fallen off" the current page?

Also, I have my car up for sale in the classifieds. Is there any way I can periodically renew the ad so it is seen as other ads are added over time?
billh1963
By typing "bump" into a reply it moves to the top

Like it just did when I replied.....
tumamilhem
What moves to the top? Yours is the only reply, so I'm not sure I get it. Let me see...

bump
tumamilhem
My reply didn't go to the top of anything. It's the last reply. Not sure I get it.
mittelmotor
QUOTE(tumamilhem @ Dec 28 2012, 06:58 PM) *

My reply didn't go to the top of anything. It's the last reply. Not sure I get it.

But it's the most recent reply...it'll bring the whole thread back up to the top of the list, so more folks will see it.

Try another post, then click on 914World Garage. Voila, it'll be first!!
tumamilhem
Yeah, but that happens anyway whenever you make a reply to a thread. I was adding icons to my classified ad just to bring it back up to the top of the page. No bump needed. So still not sure what it does. confused24.gif
mittelmotor
QUOTE(tumamilhem @ Dec 28 2012, 07:06 PM) *

Yeah, but that happens anyway whenever you make a reply to a thread. I was adding icons to my classified ad just to bring it back up to the top of the page. No bump needed. So still not sure what it does. confused24.gif

It's a "Bump" post that doesn't necessarily add any info to the thread. The purpose is to bring it back to the top for more exposure.
URY914
bump
SirAndy
icon_bump.gif
CG-914
icon_bump.gif

If you are too lazy to write anything else but this!
billh1963
Get it, yet? lol-2.gif
Eric_Shea
icon_bump.gif $hit... My reply is at the bottom too!! huh.gif

Andy... Can you fix this?