Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is my timing off?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
last337
I have my timing set at 27 degrees at 3000RPM right now but I am finding bad hesitation on take off. I found this article referencing a similar problem although he is on a single carb and not duals.

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/archive/i...t-375515--.html

I was wondering two things:

1. Should I do what is suggested and advance my timing a bit more to maybe 12 degrees at 900-1000RPM? I am concerned this is too much advance based on other things I have read here.

2. I know you guys all hate the 009 so I am considering getting an original with the vac advance and just plug that. Does anyone have one? Also, what would be ideal to replace with if I wanted to spend the money? I have heard to put the Mallory on but not sure which one.

Thanks biggrin.gif
rmital
before the experts chime in, I'll tell you what I just "experienced".
I had some concerns and similar issues with my '74 2.0L with simple dual 34icts using the 009.

changed back to the original/stock 011 distributor, and my off the line improved 100% IMHO.

I'm still playing with how much I'm advancing the timing, and still not getting fantastic advance after 3500+ rpms, but still an improvement.
last337
QUOTE(rmital @ Jan 21 2013, 08:12 AM) *

before the experts chime in, I'll tell you what I just "experienced".
I had some concerns and similar issues with my '74 2.0L with simple dual 34icts using the 009.

changed back to the original/stock 011 distributor, and my off the line improved 100% IMHO.

I'm still playing with how much I'm advancing the timing, and still not getting fantastic advance after 3500+ rpms, but still an improvement.

I certainly wish I could find a 011 distributor. I found a Bosch on ebay with the vacuum advance but it is still a 009
mrbubblehead
This is what I am using. I am very happy with it... http://vwparts.aircooled.net/Aircooled-Net...-p/acn-svda.htm
last337