Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SOT: Poor 917
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ldsgeek
Journalist out $174K after a test drive goes badly.
917 blows up
ThePaintedMan
QUOTE(ldsgeek @ Jan 22 2013, 06:50 PM) *

917 blows up

This might sound harsh but.... I don't feel bad for him at all. As a racer, he had plenty of experience and as a journalist I'm sure he has plenty of money. Bottom line, he should have known better. Whats the old phrase? "You break it, you buy it!"
SLITS
If he can buy a 917 engine for $200K ... I want 3 of them.
sixnotfour
That was the repair price
ldsgeek
Actually it was $74K for the repair and $100K for legal fees. Ain't that a kick, the lawyers cost more than vintage Porsche race parts.
mrbubblehead
Thats why I don't like riding someone elses motorcycle or driving there car.
Because #1 if I wad it up I couldnt afford to fix it. and 2 i would feel soooo bad. But my personal opinion is, if you hand someone your keys you the owner are assuming responsibility.
Jgilliam914
Poor bastard!! It is also why I do not " borrow " anything of value from friends and or acquaintaces. If he missed a shift he shouldn't have been driving it!
Pat Garvey
Agreed with "you play, you pay".

Everyone knows that these are museum pieces. You, as the rental driver are responsible.

Dit or get off the pot!
messix
why would he not insist that the owner or the owners specified driver not be doing the track driving??? confused24.gif

wow! to leave your self open for that kind of liability...... headbang.gif

as others say... you play, you pay.... and i wouldn't play unless i could afford the repair bill if i broke it! slap.gif
JmuRiz
After reading about it, I think the owner was sketchy and was hoping it'd break so he could blame the driver. But that's just my opinion...really, who owns a 917 and has it in such bad condition that you tell the driver not go go over 7k rpm?
carr914
QUOTE(JmuRiz @ Jan 22 2013, 09:24 PM) *