Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1.7 Owners or Previous Owners ........ Opinions Needed
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
Kaduku
I am new to 914s and have a chance to purchase my first 914, which is a 1.7. I know the 2.0s are faster and better, but is 1.7 good enough for me????

Please help me decide!
rmital
I've had both 1.7 and 2.0
I guess you could say the 2.0 has a little more "pull" off the line (best I could describe), but please if you've found a nice solid 1.7 that's mechanically sound, get it....better than a rusty 2.0!

a friend has a '71 1.7, and when I drive it I get the same "yahhoooo" feeling when I hit the gas..... driving.gif
Kaduku
QUOTE(rmital @ Feb 10 2013, 11:30 AM) *

a friend has a '71 1.7, and when I drive it I get the same "yahhoooo" feeling when I hit the gas..... driving.gif

Okay the "Buy It" meter just moved up one notch. Thanks, and yes it looks structurally and mechanically sound. And it's pretty too
Kaduku
Don't know if this matters, but it is a 1973 1.7
Tom_T
QUOTE(Kaduku @ Feb 10 2013, 11:46 AM) *

Don't know if this matters, but it is a 1973 1.7

That one looks like a nice 914, but you'll need a knowledgeable 914 person/mechanic to do a PPI.

1.7L's had 80 HP 70-72 MY's - in 73 it dropped to 76 HP & a very "doggy" 69 HP for CA sold cars!

...vs 95 HP for the 73-74 2L - which you will notice the difference IMHO having driven 70-72 & 73 1.7s & my own 73 2L.

Then the 75-76 dropped the 2L to only 86 HP IIRC, so maybe Ray drove a later GC engined 2L, which wasn't much different than a 70-72 1.7 at 80 HP?

However, I agree that a nice rust free 1.7 is better than a rusty 2.0.

Try driving a few of both & see what YOU like or don't, then make your decision. Also the 73-74 2.0 will be a bit more pricey than a 1.7, so your budget may determine which works for you.

.... as you'll see comparing here:
http://www.nadaguides.com/Classic-Cars/197...arga-2-0/Values