Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Engine Compression Numbers for 73 1.8
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Kaduku
Sorry, I am new to this thing. Any thoughts on these numbers? Good or bad?

110, 120, 110, 115
Black22
QUOTE(Kaduku @ Feb 18 2013, 08:17 PM) *

110, 120, 110, 115

Seem ok to me. There are more miles on that engine. Are you sure it's a 1.8L. In '73 1.7 and 2.0 were available.

About your avatar name...are you Chamorro?
Kaduku
QUOTE(Black22 @ Feb 18 2013, 09:19 PM) *

110, 120, 110, 115

Seem ok to me. There are more miles on that engine. Are you sure it's a 1.8L. In '73 1.7 and 2.0 were available.

Lol Hafa Adai, yes Tao Tao Guahan. Actually Flip but born and raised there.

The engine has probably over a 100k on it. It's a long story, but the PO changed out the 1.7 engine in the early 90s. The original engine may have had a dropped valve, and he owned a VW dealership that had a bunch of engines laying around, so he picked he best one and installed it. At least that's what I was told.

I will eventually install a good working 2.0 one day.

Black22
QUOTE(Kaduku @ Feb 18 2013, 09:30 PM) *

QUOTE(Black22 @ Feb 18 2013, 09:19 PM) *

110, 120, 110, 115

Lol Hafa Adai, yes Tao Tao Guahan. Actually Flip but born and raised there.

The engine has probably over a 100k on it. It's a long story, but the PO changed out the 1.7 engine in the early 90s. The original engine may have had a dropped valve, and he owned a VW dealership that had a bunch of engines laying around, so he picked he best one and installed it. At least that's what I was told.

I will eventually install a good working 2.0 one day.