Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pretty common problem, but not sure how to fix it.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tumamilhem
So recently my car is occasionally making some shaking and jerking. Sometimes it doesn't start. Sometimes when driving, the power shuts off if I let off the accelerator. And sometimes when I drive, it jerks, like the power is cutting in and out.

FI problem?

Engine problem?

Distributor?

Spark plugs?

Misfiring?

Timing off?

I've done some work on my other 914s, and I had this problem with each one at some point or another, but it's been so long I can't recall. And I'm not really a mechanic. My guess is it's misfiring. Any suggestions and input on how to remedy this would be great, especially explanation on how to fix it myself. Otherwise, I'll have to take it to a shop.

jasons
When I had this problem on my DJET car... My FI Trigger points were worn. And its not the contacts that were worn, it was the bushings that ride on the distributor cams which open and close the points. My bushings were worn so much the points weren't always opening/closing.
rmital
...the usual response is, check the basics...like you mentioned.
timing, dwell, etc...

just curious, do you have points or pertronics (sp.?)??
tumamilhem
QUOTE(jasons @ Mar 2 2013, 12:48 PM) *

When I had this problem on my DJET car... My FI Trigger points were worn. And its not the contacts that were worn, it was the bushings that ride on the distributor cams which open and close the points. My bushings were worn so much the points weren't always opening/closing.

Where are those bushings and FI trigger points located? Picture? Sorry, I'm still learning about these...

Thanks for your help!
jasons
QUOTE(tumamilhem @ Mar 2 2013, 11:18 AM) *

QUOTE(jasons @ Mar 2 2013, 12:48 PM) *

Where are those bushings and FI trigger points located? Picture? Sorry, I'm still learning about these...

Thanks for your help!