Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: D-jet FI and air box: Is this a problem?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tumamilhem
This is my first D-jet FI on a 914. My first 914 was a single carb and my second had the L-jet (which I liked because it was easy to manually adjust the air/fuel mixture).

First question:
In cleaning and detailing my engine, I noticed the housing on the fuel box simply came right off the _______ opening (sorry, I'm not a mechanic. Seems like a carb opening for air, but you guys will know from the pics). Shouldn't this be secured? Seems to me that a lot of air would be leaking from this. It sits on the housing, but not securely and not completely (off to the side a bit). I wrapped some Gorilla tape around it to secure it to see if it made a difference, but my car was driving shaky anyway, so I can't tell. Is this supposed to be secured or does it not matter? One mechanic told me not to worry about it. Seems like a poor design to me.

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Second question:
Is there a way I can adjust the air/fuel mixture on a D-jet FI? On the L-jet, you can adjust it by the screw on top of the air box next to the air flow meter. The screw opens and closes a door allowing more or less air into the engine. Is there a way to adjust it on a D-jet FI? If so, can someone provide me with specific instructions on how to do so? Mind you, I'm not much of a mechanic, so I may or may not know certain parts you refer to. So if you could be specific (or provide pictures of yoru explanation), that would greatly help. I'd like to learn how to do as much on my own as I can. With my L-jet, it was easy. Haven't figured my way around the D-jet yet.
jasons
QUOTE(tumamilhem @ Mar 2 2013, 09:49 AM) *

the fuel box simply came right off the _______ opening