Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rust Treatment Options
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mblizzard
Continuing with my shifting woes, I noted that the inside of my tunnel is covered in surface rust. The tubes all seem to be in good shape and still attached. But the rust must be addressed.

Given the space and access limitations physical removal option are limited. So I think I will need a chemical treatment option. I am familiar with PO-15. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions on any other treatment options?
kevin311
I have heard good stuff about Eastwood internal frame coating.

http://www.eastwood.com/internal-frame-coa...ray-nozzle.html

I just ordered some the other day. I will be using it for the same thing you are.

I have also heard of people using Por-15 Prep-&-Ready (metal ready) in a regular household spray bottle.

http://www.por15.com/PREP-READY/productinfo/MRG/

I have no first hand experience with either of these. They are just what I found with some research.

Hope this helps
913B
I am in the same boat. Since you are there might as well check the clutch tube and check if it has separated from the tunnel weld. That is what lead me address the tunnel rust as well. I got the following from the Q/A for metal. So I am thinking it is not so suited for the tunnel since it needs to be washed off or is the white powder after it dries is ok ?? wacko.gif I mean geez once you spray the metal ready in the tunnel how the heck you going to dry it out. The eastwood product may be better suited. Thats just my thoughts.

"Must I wash off the Metal-Ready after using it?
Yes. Otherwise, a powdery residue will be left after the metal dries. This can be removed with a wet rag or by
hosing it off. After washing off the treated Metal-Ready surface, dry it with warm air (hair dryer) or with towels,
etc. Flash rust could appear if the surface isn't dried quickly, but your first coat of POR-15 will remove it and adhesion