Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Member
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
HandMeDowns
Hello everyone!
I am a new member, and this is my first post..
I have inherited a '75 914 1.8 4 cylinder in canary yellow.
I am just starting out with the restoration.
The car has not been driven for seven years. It was garaged on the Oregon coast, and has only mild surface rust.
I have removed all of the interior and there are no major body issues.
I bought all new tune up parts, drained the tank, and replaced fluids.
It fires off, but will only run for a few seconds. I have a second built engine on a stand as well as other parts.
The fuel pump seems fine. My father made some modifications to the engine, which I have not yet sorted out.
I have his Haynes manual for the car.
I have it on my 18' tilt deck trailer.
I am wondering if any forum members in my area could recommend a good mechanic in the greater Seattle area.
Thanks. smile.gif
914itis
welcome.png ,

you will need to post engine info, such as fuel injection or carbs.
rick 918-S
QUOTE(914itis @ Mar 30 2013, 07:27 PM) *

welcome.png ,

agree.gif we need more info. welcome.png Let's see it! smile.gif thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
HandMeDowns
QUOTE(914itis @ Mar 30 2013, 05:27 PM) *

welcome.png ,

The engine that is in the car is L- jetronic (AFC) fuel injection. The second engine on the stand I believe he was setting up for a carburetor.
It appears to me that both engines are missing some parts on the top end. Neither engine has an air cleaner. It seems likely that I have a massive vacume leak, for starters.
I have no experience with these cars.
I will need to bring it in to somone.. smile.gif
Mike Bellis
Welcome to the madness...

welcome.png

agree.gif

thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
JStroud
welcome.png

There are a few members in your area, someone will post with a shop in your area, weekends can be slow.

But until then, we do need pictures....the car....the engines.