Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Considering a 914 purchase
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
BuckmasterBC
I am new to 914 world but have gone OC reading all the great posts. I am in the process of trying to locate a 914 for restoration and would like some comments on the following find in my area. Appears that the rust is manageable but the rockers are gone - would like some comments on how "big" the job is to replace the rockers and some contacts of replacement rockers (steel please). I have attached some pics for comments. I have never restored a car but am vary passionate about the 914 and want to "cut my teeth" on a car that is affordable.
BuckmasterBC
It's a 1974 2.0 Bumblebee (painted red) - would like comments on what the market price would be for this type of car as well as the current owner has not set a price.
hot_shoe914
My first thought is to run like hell, that rust is bad, BUT, if it is truly a Bumble Bee, then it is worth saving. Good luck and welcome.png
Ferg
That one is done for sad.gif
914itis
Run run run
wes
Looks like you have some serious rust from the pics! Some times affordable is a very time and money consuming way to go, and for a first time restoration it just might turn someone off in the end. Best off luck to you.
Andyrew
As a bumblebee the chassis might be worth 2k to a 914 enthusiast. But its definitely not the one to start with. At a shop you probably have at least 5k worth of metal work, Probably more. Then another 3-4k for a proper paint job, 2-3k for an engine, 1k for suspension and brake rebuilding, 2k for interior and seals... And thats all on the lower end... You are much better off starting with a better chassis and leave this car for someone who knows the chassis better. Your 2 years off from even driving this car...
r_towle
meh, that can be fixed if you can weld.
If not, learn.

If you are writing checks to weld, then buy a better car.

All the parts are available from Restoration design.