Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Electric pump for steering assist
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
Randal

I need to get some sort of power assist for my steering, especially with the 1:5.1 quickner.

Everyone I talked with said that the Toyota MR2 has such a unit that is electric but connects to the steering unit and forces hydraulic oil in the steering rack to lessen input.

Anyone ever put one of these units in their race car?

McMark
Pontiac G6 has an electric assist power steering. No hydraulics AFAIK... something like this could be interesting.

IPB Image
Randal
QUOTE(McMark @ Apr 7 2013, 11:54 PM) *

Pontiac G6 has an electric assist power steering. No hydraulics AFAIK... something like this could be interesting.

IPB Image

So one of those runs into the steering rack? Weight?
J P Stein
I have no experience with electric steering, but I read it's numb as a computer game.
The MR2 set up has excellent "feel".
Randal
QUOTE(J P Stein @ Apr 8 2013, 08:49 AM) *

I have no experience with electric steering, but I read it's numb as a computer game.

GREAT / GREAT JP knows about this.

So JP how does this MR2 set up work. Does it hose into my steering rack or do I need to change to a Toyota rack?

Wish you could have been at Medford yesterday. Really FUN day and the car was handling so well.
J P Stein
QUOTE(Randal @ Apr 8 2013, 01:57 PM) *

So JP how does this MR2 set up work. Does it hose into my steering rack or do I need to change to a Toyota rack?

Wish you could have been at Medford yesterday. Really FUN day and the car was handling so well.

I *assume* you would have to use the MR2 rack.