Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Well I got my CHT out finally
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Nozzle
In preparation for the trip to Hershey this weekend, I wanted to troubleshoot some very poor cold starting that had developed recently. To check the health of the CHT sensor I pulled it so I could verify cold and warm readings. Odd thing was how much effort it took to remove. I'd read these things should snug but not be in very tight. So I finally got it out and this is what I found:

Click to view attachment

I'm no expert but that sure looks like aluminum filling in the threads. I have a correct replacement but I'm worried about trying to thread it into the head at this point.

So my question is how screwed am I now and what is the best way to go forward? Any thoughts or experience in this area would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

John
SLITS
You are not in error ... those are the aluminum threads that pulled.

Someone makes a setup to install the CHT on one of the intake manifold bolts, but I don't remember whom.
Dave_Darling
You you can try (try!) to get a helicoil into the hole without dropping the motor. Not easy, but I have heard that it can be done.

I dropped the motor when it happened to me. And then I found a few other things that I should do "while I'm in there"...

--DD
Jeffs9146
This happened to me and I dropped the motor! Way easier!
JamesM
I have a core motor that came with a CHT spacer that acutally screwed into the tin screw hole by the intake manifold. Thankfully it doesent need to be in that exact spot, just anywhere in the head that it can get proper heat transfer and grounding. This should not keep you out for long.

skeates