Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What's it worth?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
flylarry
I have a 74 2.0 that I've been driving every day for 5 years and has rust in cowl area that is substantial, basic on the right engine bay, not all the way through. Usual rust in the cockpit (I'm a pilot). Almost everything works.

odometer, Hi-beam blue light, red reserve fuel light does not.

Car needs lots! Banged left front fender, banged rear, but drives great.
flylarry
A'm I still a newbie if I've been here since 2005?
Dr Evil
With 13 posts, yes, newbie.

Pics would help your question get answered.
SirAndy
QUOTE(flylarry @ May 8 2013, 05:17 PM) *

A'm I still a newbie if I've been here since 2005?

'Newbie' status does not refer to the length of your membership but rather to the level of participation.

If i recall correctly, one becomes a 'Member' after 50 posts.
shades.gif
flylarry
Pics, I know better, sorry. Pics forthcoming.
tadink
HI Larry -

it's worth what someone else will pay for it....however, in the larger scheme of things, cosmetics sell cars. If you have rust, then the tub is probably not worth saving (I've gone thru 2 tubs to get to this one that is worth keeping, the others were scrapped).

so, now you are down to the value of the bits - the 2.0 engine is worth something, working is good, documentation on compression will help you get the full value from that. If you have done any recent work, so much the better, receipts and documentation will support the value. The side-shifter (assuming) is also worth something - as is whatever else you have added to the car over the years.

Likely as not - this is worth parting out. The sum of the parts will exceed the market value, given the cosmetic issues you have described. It is a pain in the a_s but, in the end, selling the bits may garner you the most value for the car.