Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rust repair question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
stateofidleness
Gents,
I'm tackling rust repair myself and am a complete novice... so this is quite a challenge (and a bit scary) for me.

I'm going to start with the typical firewall areas (near battery tray corner and along the "seam" near the bottom inside the engine compartment. What I'm a little unsure of is should the "scaly" metal be replaced as well? I've wire wheeled on the inside firewall around the small swiss cheese areas and can see shiny clean metal, however, in those exact same areas on the engine compartment side, I can't get to shiny metal, it's all dark, scaly metal.

So how far do I grind on the engine compartment side, and should I be welding from the inside area or on the engine compartment side of the repair?
Spoke
I think the dark scaly metal is garbage and should be removed. Weld new metal onto clean metal for the best result.

Usually a little patch ends up being a big patch by the time you remove all the bad stuff.

Post a couple of pics to show what you are looking at.
nathansnathan
Maybe try a rust dissolver and a course wire brush and see where it gets you. Having it blasted would be the best, though. Ideally you would only want to weld to shiny clean metal as any oxidation leaves the weld contaminated and more likely for rust coming back.

If it has holes right through, "swiss cheese" as you say, it will be thin and blow through welding it, and should be replaced.

I wouldn't use the course wire wheel on a grinder as it's a bit harsh and will make the metal thin/take off good metal, too. Glass bead or soda would be the best, could maybe have it 'spot blasted' to keep the mess down.
rjames
3m makes a paint stripping wheel that will take rust off, too but won't remove good metal.
OllieG