Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Compression Leak on the Six
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mike D.
My #3 Cyl. is squeezing air out on it's compression stroke. Valve's are moving fine and closing. I re-torqued the head, actually all three on that side. I loosend them all then torqued again. All of the nuts tighten down just fine, however when I loosen one of them it feels like the stud is spinning with the nut. I have the carb and headers off right now too.

When it happend, the engine was making a slight cherping sound, but only under load. I thought it was an intake leak. Then as I was climbing a hill near home, engine under load, something just let go. It turned from a cherp into a loud puff, puff, puff...and now always, not just loaded.

I have no experience with pulled head studs, so I don't know what to look/listen for. But I would imagine that pulled stud wouldn't be able to tighten down again.??

Any one have any ideas? - Any six experts in Santa Clarita want to come over for a beer tomorrow?
-Mike D.
Series9
You retorqued the heads with the engine in the car?

I've never tried that, but I think it would be very difficult. What size engine is it? Did you remove the head nut from the stud you suspected was turning?

You got that stud to take full torque?

It sounds like a pulled stud or blown head gasket to me (hopefull the latter).

And, if you relieved torque on heads with gaskets, there's a good chance they won't reseat.
Mike D.
Yep, engine is still in the car, I was able to get to all 12 bolts no problem, engine is a 2.2.

I did not completely remove the nut I suspected of turning the stud. I was afraid that if I got it out I would never get it back in. Guess it wouldn't have mattered at that point... I was able to torque it to 30 lbs. +. after it didn't seal the first time I went around and wrenched them down some more.

I'm turning the engine with starter, btw...