Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: EvilWerks, should it go to downloadable DVDs?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Dr Evil
I am just a simple country physician. I am not an internet savvy, virtual 1s and 0s person. I have my transmission DVD set for sale, but I am always having to burn them and ship them and the physical manifestation of them requires that I have overhead. Many people have suggested that I make them downloadable, but I am pretty clueless as to how. I see the upside of lower cost, quicker reception of the product by the customer, and cheaper for those abroad as I have shipped as far as Estonia, Australia, etc. Piracy can happen with a hard copy so I am not to concerned about this.

So, I own EvilWerks.com as a domain name, but I have no actual site. How would I best go about creating a site and making my 2 disk DVD set downloadable to the public after they paid for it???

balljoint
There are pre-existing sites that will allow an artist to have downloadable material (music etc.) available with a specific single use password. You take the payment and provide the web address and the password.
rnellums
You could set up a dropbox site (dropbox.com) and upload an encrypted zip file containing the DVD. Then all you do is once you get paid, you send them the link to the file and the password. If you really wanted to be secure, you could change the password every month, or use a fancy encryption file that self destructs( I dont know how to do that though) Its all free too smile.gif If you want I can set it up for you.
Jon H.
You could use Google Drive. I use it to share documents. You upload your data and you send an e-mail to the recipient to download the data. You can then change the access permissions when they have downloaded it. It's free too.

Jon
timothy_nd28
All great options. I'll be your first customer when you get this set up.
popcorn[1].gif
kevin311
I'll probably be the second. beerchug.gif
ConeDodger