Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: 420 SEL issues ?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
scotty b
I have an opportunity to get a complete 420 SEL engine pretty cheap. Unknown condition, but I'll probably go look at it this week and find out if it turns over. I've had little experience with them. Are there any common issues that would tell me to leave it alone ? This one is a 1990 if it makes any difference. Considering it for a 114 chassis with a manual trans to make a little German hot rod shades.gif
TheCabinetmaker
What's a 114?
JmuRiz
Bah, you just like the badge options with those numbers... biggrin.gif

I think I've seen M116 engines in a W123, but not in a W114...so it's possible someone with skills could make it fit.

I have a spare euro M110 with a manual trans flywheel that has 185hp, but it's down about 50 lb/ft of torque on that 4.2 v8
PanelBilly
If I remember correctly them have cam sensors that are uncontainable
scotty b
QUOTE(JmuRiz @ Jul 28 2013, 01:43 PM) *

Bah, you just like the badge options with those numbers... biggrin.gif

I think I've seen M116 engines in a W123, but not in a W114...so it's possible someone with skills could make it fit.

I have a spare euro M110 with a manual trans flywheel that has 185hp, but it's down about 50 lb/ft of torque on that 4.2 v8

Well that WAS the plan until this 420 came to light. That probably will still be the plan as I'm sure this engine needs to be gone through. I'm not really concerned about fitment as the early SL and SLR cars ( 107's ) were the same basic platform as the 114, and were offered with the V8 . I doubt they had any more space in the engine bay confused24.gif
scotty b
QUOTE(PanelBilly @ Jul 28 2013, 01:51 PM) *

If I remember correctly them have cam sensors that are uncontainable

confused24.gif No cam sensor I am aware of. they have a crank sensor that is readily available
r_towle