Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hell Hole Help?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
MAD914
I'm going to apologize in advance for this post, as I know this is a very common topic, and I've reviewed a lot of previous posts, but I've never done this before, and I'm a little hesitant about carving up the car - so please bear with me. From other posts I've seen, my damage may not be too catastrophic.

I'm hoping this isn't something that I can't do myself. I've welded in the past, but not for a long time. I need to get a MIG and practice. Like I used to say when I worked in a lab - "If I knew what I was doing, it wouldn't be an experiment". (Or an adventure, for that matter).

First off, here's my slice of hell:

Click to view attachment

Another:Click to view attachment

And one more a little closer:

Click to view attachment

Here, I've numbered the areas that need to be replaced.

Click to view attachment

Obviously #1, the engine shelf (but I don't think I need to replace all of it, do I?)

#2 is the top of the long, but the pinholes appear to only extend through the top "layer" of the metal. Do I still make a full-thickness cut and just section this out?

#3 The pin-holed wheelhouse sheet metal has to go, right?

#4 This little section at the bottom of the firewall - Replace it?

One more photo:

Click to view attachment

I would welcome any input at all regarding the details as to the steps in this process. I don't know the best tool/method for cutting the metal out, and I'm assuming I would use 20 ga. metal on the wheelhouse and 18 ga. on the top of the long. I know replacement panels are available, but I don't know if the places I have to fix would warrant getting the part if I'm only going to use a section of it.

Do I want to preserve as much of the "flange" material (where the different sections meet), or does it matter?

Again, any input would be great.
malcolm2