Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: VIN # verification
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Originality and History
sphillips
Newbie here, looking to purchase a 914.

I have found a 1974 that I may go look at this weekend. The VIN # that is listed on the sale ad has a 6th digit that is the letter "T", with a total of 10 characters. When I run a Carfax (is this the best source?), it tells me that I don't have enough characters, should be 17, though looking at VIN/model year history on the PelicanParts website, it appears that no VINs had more than 10 characters, and none appear to have a letter anywhere in the number. Any help with this is appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve
Jonathan Livesay
QUOTE(sphillips @ Aug 9 2013, 09:53 AM) *

I have found a 1974 that I may go look at this weekend. The VIN # that is listed on the sale ad has a 6th digit that is the letter "T", with a total of 10 characters. When I run a Carfax (is this the best source?), it tells me that I don't have enough characters, should be 17, though looking at VIN/model year history on the PelicanParts website, it appears that no VINs had more than 10 characters, and none appear to have a letter anywhere in the number. Any help with this is appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve

Carfax doesn't go back that far, they can only go back as far as when vins were standardized in 1981. All 914's have 10 digit vins beginning with 47 for all 4 cylinder cars, no letters.
sphillips
QUOTE(Jonathan Livesay @ Aug 9 2013, 09:02 AM) *

QUOTE(sphillips @ Aug 9 2013, 09:53 AM) *

Thanks,

Steve

Carfax doesn't go back that far, they can only go back as far as when vins were standardized in 1981. All 914's have 10 digit vins beginning with 47 for all 4 cylinder cars, no letters.

Thanks for that information, very helpful.

Steve
davep
Do a bit of research here:
http://www.914world.com/specs/914info.php
sphillips
QUOTE(davep @ Aug 9 2013, 09:41 AM) *

Thanks, thats very good info.

Steve
sphillips