Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Attempt to start day 2 - vacuum lines setup
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
lsintampa
75 914/4 CA car 2.0 D-jet

The head holes for smog control were blocked, there is NO smog pump. I don't have a anti-flashback valve (whatever that is).

I've searched, read, and looked at all the diagrams of hose layouts - but I'm just not getting the whole picture. In my defense, this is my first FI car, so I'm still learning - albeit slow.

The problem I have with the drawings is they don't clearly show if the hose goes to the plenum or the air filter.

So I went and took some notes. There are 5 places that I can easily identify (plenum, dizzy vacuum, air filter box, and motor) that have hose connections and only few devices that they can plug into:

Devices:

1) Dizzy vacuum - has two hoses both go to the throttle body - DONE

2) MPS - has only ONE hose port - I assume goes to the plenum - would not make sense to go anywhere else. DONE

3) The De-accel thing has three ports (one small and two other medium sized), I don't know if one goes to the plenum and two to the air filter or the other way around. All I know it there is one smaller diam hose and two others the same size. NOT DONE.

4) AAR - one hose comes from the cold start valve, but where does the other hose go. My guess is to the air filter - since the one from the cold start is in the plenum. Maybe done?

5) That leaves the air filter - it has 5 hose ports (but one of them that is at the tip has some sort of T looking mounting bracket that is blocked off). Not done.

I would guess that NO hose goes from the plenum to the air filter box - makes no sense.

On the plenum there are five points where air can enter

1) the throttle body done!
2) the cold start valve - goes to the AAR - done!
3) the MPS
4) ??
5) ??