Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fiberglass Fail
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bigkensteele
So I have this really nice tan interior that I am refurbishing. Like most, the bottom of the backpad needed some work, and I saw a thread a while back where someone here used fiberglass to fix the bottom edges. I decided to use the same approach.

I have been putting this off for a couple of months because it has been probably 25 years since I have done anything with FG, and that was the floor of my brother's boat. That was relatively easy because we just mixed up the whole can and tube of hardener and three of us brushed it out.

I decided on Sunday that I wasn't going to put it off any longer. I knew that this might not go well since it is hard to look into a cup of resin and determine how many drops of hardener to use. Well, I apparently didn't use enough. Two days later, there are spots that are still tacky, and the glass isn't adhering on my largest patch.

Any thoughts or recommendations are welcome.

This side turned out OK as it was in pretty good condition anyway. It has fully hardened.

Click to view attachment

This side, not so good. As you can see the glass is not sticking, and large areas are still tacky, especially underneath the spots that I had clamped with wax paper.
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
SLITS
heat gun?

heat lamp?
Mike Bellis
I would mix some resin extra hot and go over it again. If you had enough hardener, you could spray on the old mix and overlay a normal mix. Won't be perfect but should save the back panel.
URY914
Pull off the fabric and scrap off as much of the mix as possible.

Do it over.

rick 918-S
I'f it's not hard just pull it off and start over. Mix it hot and it will kick off any resin that has soaked into the backing.
tracks914