Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dizzy removal
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
newdeal2
I was told by a Porsche mechanic there is a "trick" that is fail safe for pulling the distributer without loosing parts into the case.

Any "tricks" ?
Always Looking
I loosen the adjusting bolt, rotate the dist so I can see the 10 mm bolt holding the adjusting clamp down and remove the distributor with the adjusting clamp.

Good luck.
mattillac
remove wires and remember where they go. loosen clamp and remove dizzy. i didnt remove the clamp when i took mine off, but i'm no expert. mines a 75 2.0, don't really think theres anything to be dropped into the case, unless your dizzy is busted.
bondo
I've heard that if you pull out the distributor drive gear, a washer can fall off inside the case. The gear doesn't come out with the distributor though. Also, make sure the area around the distributor is clean, or all the gunk will fall into the hole once you take it out.
McMark
agree.gif
It's the drive that you have to be careful of. The distributor can be taken in and out all day without concern. Take the clamp out with it otherwise it can damage the o-ring on the dist. shaft.
DNHunt
It's the drive that needs to be removed to index the distributor to the crankshaft. Get the distributor out of the car as mentioned above. Find a dowel that will fit the hole on the inside of the dizzy drive. I use the little bambo stakes that gardeners use to stake up plants (don't laugh it works). Go to the nursery and get a package. You will get almost an unlimited selection of dowels approximately 5/16"- 3/8" and one will fit the dizzy drive snuggly. Stick it down in the hole and press it into the dizzy drive. Lift it out with a little rotation.