Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: dumb engine upgrade question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dale73914
Hi All,

Rather than trawl for hours ( and i know the info is probably here ), i just thought i would ask.

My 1973 is a 1.7 , running original injection.

Motor is in good running condition, however as is always the case i would like a bit more oomph...

Now i'm pretty new to type4 engines, and know very little about them, aside from performing basic maintenace tasks.

I've worked on most of my cars over the years, but this is only my second aircooled ( used to have a 73 911E 20'ish years ago that ended up as my house deposit sad.gif , but it was serviced by a Porsche dealer)

If i wanted to replace the 1.7 , or upgrade it to a 2.0 or 2056 ? ish sized motor, can i use the original block, the injection etc, or does the whole lot get replaced with a later model 2.0 system.

I dont want to go to carbs if possible, and would prefer to retain the standard look.

Or is there work i can do to the 1.7 possibly to make it that little bit quicker ?

Given i'm also in Australia, hunting for the right parts, and advice is not as easy as it is in the US.

It is just a dry weather Sunday car, i have no plans for any type of motorsport with it, i just want a bit more off the line performance.

Cheers

Dale

ConeDodger
The ultimate upgrade for the 1.7 is the McMark Turbo done on an otherwise stock 1.7. I am pretty sure McMark would put you together the stuff you need to do this for a price. I should have driven Mark's 1.7 Turbo when I was down in Sonoma earlier this week but I forgot to ask. I am told by people who have ridden in it that it feels like a Raby 2270. That, and trust me on this I have owned one, is all you could want out of a TypeIV.
Short of that, the only things you can do are to increase displacement with crank, rods, P&C's...