Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 2056 Valvetrain question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
flipb
Let me preface: I'm not a mechanic and I've never built an engine, so what I'm sharing below is secondhand from my engine builder...

We are in the midst of building my stock 2.0 into a 2056. I purchased 96mm Pistons & Cylinders from European Motorworks, along with new valves, cam, and various other hardware... EMW also cleaned/refurbished the heads and rods.

My engine builder here in Virginia is a little bewildered by some of what EMW sold me. Specifically, he says that the alignment of the rockers & valves "sucks". The valve adjustment screw has to be turned all the way in, buried in the rocker, and it still looks like there will be severe wear. He suggested we might have the wrong lifters or need longer pushrods. Or there might be an alternative to use rockers from a 1.7 and/or something off a 911 with a ball & socket joint.

I'm going to post the full invoice of what I bought from EMW -- perhaps someone can help me understand the issue, either from the notes above or by reviewing the parts list.

Does this make sense or sound familiar to anyone? What's the right fix? I'm stuck in the middle of trying to get resolution from EMW for an issue I don't fully understand, but I want to see if anyone here might quickly spot the problem.

Click to view attachment
malcolm2
So you did not get new rockers assemblies, adjustment screws or push rods? Shouldn't you?

sorry your not doing it, cause if you took some pictures it may help.
TheCabinetmaker
The new cam has changed your valve train geometry.You need 1.7 rocker arms and 911 swivel feet adjusters (genuine Porsche only). You also need to determine the length of your new pushrods. I'm surprised your engine builder did not know this.
Java2570
agree.gif what Curt said.....
flipb
QUOTE(The Cabinetmaker @ Sep 23 2013, 03:47 PM) *