Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 3.6 tranny options
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
stephenpowless
Currently have a 915 transmission with 3.6 varioram motor. It's very balky and I'd like to switch back to the original G50. The bell housing took a big hit in a track mishap when they were in a 911. The motor is now in a 914 and I miss the G50. Stan at GBox has offered to fabricate a new bell housing and add GT3RS third, fourth and fifth gears. Has anyone made this conversion? My mechanic is wondering about what pedal cluster to use. Any recommendations appreciated. TIA.
Will this be in a 914 or 911?
stephenpowless
QUOTE(396 @ Sep 30 2013, 10:50 PM) *

Will this be in a 914 or 911?

This is going to be mated the motor previously moved from the wreck, to a 914 track car. I've been testing and tuning for two years now. First had to track down a ECU problem. Now working on the alignment. I'm really unhappy with the 915 transmission the builder put in the car
brant
The ring and pinion machined. Not a bolt in job. I believe the g50 interferes with the chassis
SirAndy
QUOTE(brant @ Oct 1 2013, 09:50 AM) *
I believe the g50 interferes with the chassis

It's been 10 years since i've looked at a G50 in a 914 but if i recall correctly, it was mounted upside down to clear the chassis.

popcorn[1].gif
tscrihfield
QUOTE(SirAndy @ Oct 1 2013, 01:35 PM) *

QUOTE(brant @ Oct 1 2013, 09:50 AM) *
I believe the g50 interferes with the chassis

It's been 10 years since i've looked at a G50 in a 914 but if i recall correctly, it was mounted upside down to clear the chassis.

popcorn[1].gif

agree.gif all I've seen have been mounted upside down.
brant
Are they all converted to cable shifts?
Matt Romanowski
It has to be upside down if you want multiple forward gears and only one reverse. Kit car people do it fairly often.
stephenpowless
QUOTE(Matt Romanowski @ Oct 1 2013, 04:55 PM) *