Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: It you are a medical doctor, please read
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ThinAir
If you have any experience with Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease I'd like to correspond with you. This may be what my father-in-law may have.
DNHunt
Ernie

I'm sorry to hear about your father in law.

I'm no medical doctor but I've been to a couple of dental education classes lately where Creutzfeld-Jacob came up. There are a couple of kinds. Sporatic Creutzfeld-Jacob and a variant form. Both are rare and lead to a type of protein called amyloid being laid down in plaques between brain cells. We need amyloid but not in such large amounts.

There are a couple of reasons it was discussed. First, sporatic Creutzfeld-Jacob may be more common than thought and some cases diagnosed as Alzheimers may be Creutzfeld-Jacobs. And, second, variant Creutzfeld-Jacobs is the disease in humans that can be caused by eating beef infected with some types of mad cow disease.
I really don't know about treatment or the course of the disease but I'll keep him in my prayers.

Dave
Joe Bob
definitions

Here's a site...
ThinAir
Thanks Dave & Mike. Sporadic CJD is what it looks like he has. Whatever it is, it is a degenerative neurological disorder with fairly rapid onset. He fell on September 1st. It took 5 weeks before the medical system figured out that he'd broken his hip (after declaring on 9/1 that it wasn't broken). Hip replacement surgery followed and that has healed, but he's unable to walk or get out of bed on his own because his brain isn't capable of telling his body what to do. He's 75 years old.