Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Push Rods ....New
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Ok,
I'm new to this type 4 stuff and have search but could not find what I think reliable info.
So to the well respected engine builders here - are there step by step YouTube / instructions of how properly " make" new push rod tubes.
Thanks in advance for your input.
scotty b
tubes or push rods ? You don't MAKE the tubes, you buy them new. If you're referring to the push rod itself when setting rocker geometry, then you can search here. It has been covered many times
QUOTE(scotty b @ Nov 23 2013, 05:22 PM) *

tubes or push rods ? You don't MAKE the tubes, you buy them new. If you're referring to the push rod itself when setting rocker geometry, then you can search here. It has been covered many times

Yes, push rod. I attempted the search function.. No luck
Java2570
Here is a good link from Van's engine build that shows an example of making custom pushrods for your engine:

http://www.ephotomotion.com/914engine/page28.html
QUOTE(Java2570 @ Nov 24 2013, 08:50 AM) *

Here is a good link from Van's engine build that shows an example of making custom pushrods for your engine:

http://www.ephotomotion.com/914engine/page28.html

Thanks, I did review Van's posting. I guess my question deals with the best angles for the rods. Shoot for 90 degrees at full lift? Logically I think that would be best. I'm I on right track! Thanks
Java2570
I would search and read as much as you can on valve geometry setup as it's a pretty precise and time consuming part of the engine build. I know it's been talked about here a lot......hopefully you'll get some more experienced builders chiming in but I
think that you have to look at half lift and full lift to make sure the angle is consistent.
Dave_Darling